Cults Share Cover Art and Tracklist for New Album Static


The new LP from New York pop duo Cults is Static, out October 15 through Columbia. Just last week, Cults shared animated GIF versions of Static‘s cover art; that’s the CD/digital cover, above.

As a press bio states, Static is a “breakup album.” (The band’s members, Brian Oblivion and Madeline Follin, were a couple when the project began in 2010.) Oblivion described the meaning of Static in the bio:

There’s a feeling our generation has. The feeling there’s always something better around the corner, that everyone is born to be a star. The feeling that life is waiting for you, and yet it’s not happening. All of that is static.


01 I Know
02 I Can Hardly Make You Mine
03 Always Forever
04 High Road
05 Were Before
06 So Far
07 Keep Your Head Up
08 TV Dream
09 We’ve Got It
10 Shine A Light
11 No Hope

“I Can Hardly Make You Mine”:

“High Road”: