“Why Does It Need A Label?”

Alison Goldfrapp & Lisa Gunning at DFA Records Exhibition at Tom Dunne Gallery Darlinghurst, 27th July 2010

Alison Goldfrapp & Lisa Gunning at DFA Records Exhibition at Tom Dunne Gallery Darlinghurst, 27th July 2010

In a February 2010 interview with The Sunday Times, Goldfrapp confirmed she was dating film editor Lisa Gunning, but rejected being defined as a lesbian, saying,

“I think of everything as being about a person and a relationship, and I am in a wonderful relationship with a wonderful person. It just happens to be with a lady… It’s something I’ve thought about for a long time and it concurs with my philosophy on life and sexuality. I don’t think it can or should be pigeonholed. I’ve thought about this since I was a teenager. I’ve always found it claustrophobic to think about having to put things into categories like that. My sexuality is the same as my music and my life. Why does it need a label?”

We can all learn from that.

